Closet Purge

hangers3

I have a bad habit of buying clothes and then forgetting about them. I’ve posted about this before, and the problem is an obvious one: I have too much stuff.

I once read that each time you buy a new item of clothing you should get rid of an old one, but that’s a bit extreme for me. Given my lifestyle, my wardrobe includes LA and NY clothes (places I frequent), as well as Nevada City clothes (the place where I live). Suffice it to say that something I might wear locally to have lunch with a girlfriend is not necessarily something I’d pack for LA.

That fact aside, my closets were still too full. So this morning, feeling a bit bold and ruthless, I launched an attack. By the time I was finished, I had two large garbage bags filled with clothes and shoes to take to the thrift store.

The good news: I feel as if I’ve accomplished something useful.

The bad news: My closets don’t look that much emptier, which means that my clothes must have really been jammed in there. Hmmmm…so maybe that’s good news after all.

4 thoughts on “Closet Purge

  1. I have just done a “home purge” and sold everything to start fresh. I’m not in crisis, just wanting to invite newness. I also made a trip to Anthro in Seattle to plump up my wardrobe. My heart skips a few beats when I arrive there. I spent 3.5 hours on day 1, then just under an hour on day 2. I think I may be an “anthro-holic”. If you feel like purging and refreshing your panty drawer, take a look at my business pantybypost.com. Anthro carries our partner line, Blush.

    1. Heh. If you’re indeed an Anthro-holic, I’m your partner in crime. I love that place! What I like best is that they carry wonderful things for women of all ages. I’m going to check out your Web site now….

Leave a Reply

