2019 Oscars

Call me jaded, but my most intense reactions this year were to dresses that, IMHO, had no place on the red carpet. While there were probably some fabulous frocks at the Oscars, I’ve been temporarily blinded by the likes of these atrocities:

Kacey Musgraves – Belongs in the window of a patisserie

Kacey Musgraves

Maya Rudolph – Reappropriated curtains, a la “Sound of Music”

Maya Rudolph

Rachel Weisz – Ready for rain

Rachel Weisz

Sarah Paulson – This just reminds me of a melted candle.

Sarah Paulson.png

Glenn Close – Looking a bit too much like Oscar himself

Glenn close2.png

Linda Cardellini – Floofy

Linda Cardellini.png

Olivia Coleman – When you pick out a sleeveless dress for the Oscars, then decide you don’t want to expose your upper arms

Olivia coleman.png

Cicely Tyson – Feather duster…but I love the fascinator

Cicely Tyson.png

Sandy Powell – It’s the Oscars. Try a little harder to dress up.

Sandy Powell.png

Diane Warren – If you’re going to wear a tuxedo, make it black.

Diane Warren.png

Billy Porter – I. Can’t. Even.

Billy Porter.png

I realize I have a double standard going here. I’ll accept a tuxedo on a woman–my friend Laurie wore one to the Oscars a few years ago and looked fabulous–but a ball gown on a guy just doesn’t work for me.

Leave a comment